Between a rock and a hard place


Gobble, Gobble, Gobble….
November 18, 2007, 2:42 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I am more than excited for Thanksgiving this year. Its the first in 5 years that I haven’t been working. That I get to wake up a leisurely pace, watch the parade, and cook a meal with my mom for our family.

The last three years my Thanksgivings have been……..Well they’ve been less than stellar.

Three years ago, it was just me and my grandparents. Ok, but boring and not exactly what I would deem a happenin time.
Two years ago, I spent it with my grandmother in North Carolina, in a hospital, with my grandfather. It was not only his last Thanksgiving, it was also his last day on earth. Again, a good time was had by all.
Last year it was just me, my mother, and my grandmother sitting around eating leftovers from the Health Center. After this I proclaimed that this year, we would have a normal Thanksgiving if it killed us. I was sick of this being a lackluster holiday.

Which brings us to 2007, this year we will all, well sans Amanda which is a different story all together, be gathering at my mother’s. My mother and I will be cooking dinner, I can actually watch the parade. And I can enjoy the beginning of a holiday season that I have vowed to make good.

Even if good entails buying a large large bottle of Tequila on Christmas Eve, and it being gone Christmas Day.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

