Between a rock and a hard place


A little alone time…..
January 5, 2008, 10:29 pm
Filed under: family, life, Mr. Wonderful | Tags: , ,

Just me, and lil ‘ol Black Jack.

Mr. Wonderful is in Carolina, with Fox News. Which I’m ok with. After 10 days virtually away from him, at this point what is another 8? Besides it gives me a chance to <i> miss </i> him. Oh and time to cook new things!!!! I think I may start talking about food more here on this thing. Since really I’m in love.

I may try to perfect my pasta making skills this week, for when Mr. Wonderful and I get back from Florida.

I believe I will be trying this recipe:

List ‘o’ needs.

1 Cup of all purpose flour
Salt
1/2 pound ricotta cheese
1 Large Egg, Lightly Beaten

Put the flour into a large ceramic or glass bowl. Make a spot for the egg in the flour, and add the egg and salt and just a little bit of water. Work the mixture together well. Lightly flour a surface and knead the dough until it is smooth. Let the dough rest at room temperature, covered with an inverted bowl or plastic wrap for a half hour.

Roll out the dough until very thin but not so thin that it will rip, tear, or burst while boiling. Form the dough and cut into 4″ squares. Add a teaspoon or less of the ricotta into the center, and put another piece of dough over it and close by pressing down with the fork on all four sides and “mushing” the 2 layers of dough together.

Bring a pot of salted water to a boil, and add the ravioli. Cook until the ravioli float (about 6 to 8 minutes). They’re done when they float up to the top. Drain and toss the desired quantity with your favorite sauce.

Wish me luck!!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

