Between a rock and a hard place


So you are straight
January 31, 2009, 9:31 pm
Filed under: 2009, charity

Apparently I look gay. 

 

My now fiancee and the kids at the shelter, upon looking at me assumed I was gay. Um ok? Interesting? 

 

Cooking tonight went quite well I think, the woman who runs the shelter was one odd duck I can tell you that. She just sat there. I’m not there for her, I’m there for the kids, but, if you’re the one who is asking people to do this for you. You could at least acknowledge their existence or presence while they are there. Maybe a ‘hello’ or a ‘goodbye’? 

 

MoneyMateKate met Mr. Wonderful and I there, and we made a rousing rendition of shepherds’ pie, which seemed to go over well. One guy requested no meat since he was… um vegan? Homeless and vegan? Riiiiigggghhht. And one kid asked if next time we could make, of all things, stuffed cabbage. What?

 

Overall it was a good experience, and one that I will most definitely be repeating. Whose in?  And thank you Kate, its good to know that there are good people in the world. I can’t wait to do this again.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hey – thank you! Past attempts at volunteering put me in the company of people with that heartfelt-pained look on their faces. Like being “good” was a part they were playing, and this was the expression they were *supposed* to wear. You were, well, a fellow wiseass who called a spade a spade. Thanks for making this possible!

And yeah, stuffed cabbage – wtf?? The rest of the kids there would NOT thank us for making their shelter smell like farts. Though it might be amusing for those of us who only have to tolerate it for 90 minutes 🙂

Next week, ShopRite has boneless pork loin (10-12 lbs) on sale for a stunning 99c per pound. Might be worth buying and freezing for future use…

Comment by moneymatekate

I am so glad to hear this went well! MMK said that the lady there was a bit ‘rude’. What’s that? She doesn’t believe in what she is doing?

Anyhow, I think it is fantastic for what you all are doing! Can’t wait to hear more!

Comment by Personal Budget Consulting

She just sat there like a bump on a freakin’ log. We weren’t there for her. But as the person who is asking (begging?) people to donate, or come volunteer, I would have expected at least a “Hello, thanks for coming out tonight”.

Mr. Wonderful is really the most infuriated by her. hah Thanks for looking around here!

Comment by aladyinred




Leave a Reply

